Allen Ginsberg’s Christmas Howl

December 22, 2015

Ommm.

I have seen the best teeth of my generation broken upon the crust of a neighbour’s mince pie.

I have seen men struggling through aisles laden with tinsel, buying chocolates uglier than sphincters and enduring carols.

I have seen ecstatic visions of Noddy Holder and of King Wenceslas naked upon a reindeer.

For it is Christmas.

Therefore I rejoice.

I rejoice in the truths that will emerge in shallow Yuletide arguments.

I rejoice in television specials, for mindlessness opens gates into nirvana.

I rejoice in gifts of underwear.

I rejoice in the mother cooking resentfully, and in the drunken aunt.

And in the farting vegan who refuses turkey.

In these I rejoice.

Ommm.

3 Responses to “Allen Ginsberg’s Christmas Howl”


  1. And a Merry Christmas to you too, George!!

  2. jim brown Says:

    Enjoyed that one. Forwarded it on. Eat drink and make merry this equinox, never fails to bring back the light.


  3. Reblogged this on The Gospel According to the Romans and commented:
    I can’t think of a better seasonal greeting for everyone than this piece by George Simmers, who edits the monthly online poetry Snakeskin – http://www.simmers1.webspace.virginmedia.com/snake223.html.
    Merry Whatever to everyone!


Leave a Reply

